I think I want to be a wedding planner when I grow up. haha.

But seriously, this is amazing. It’s probably only amazing because everything is coming together so well! We have the cake taken care of (Justin’s mom is a baking whiz!) and we also have the music taken care of as well as a videographer. We work with someone who will do our photography, so all we have left is catering and venue, which we should seal the deal with on Wednesday! We’re getting married on Friday, August 28th, 2009! We really are blessed to have some amazing and talented friends.

Yesterday I went on my first dress shopping outing with my mom. After getting hopelessly lost in Ohio we managed to find David’s Bridal. Trying on wedding dresses is unlike anything I’ve ever done before. I have tried out countless formal dresses for proms and homecomings when I was younger, and even weddings and other events as an adult…nothing compares to looking for the gown you’re going to be married in. First of all, before they have you look at anything, you get a personal consultant who sites down with you and registers you at the shop. Then you flip through a catalog being brutally honest about all the dresses. After you go though what you like and don’t like the consultant takes you over to the dressing area and gives you a strapless bra/corset thing and a slip..which depending on the dress you have to change in and out of. There’s two different slips, one is huge and pouf-y and made out of cretalin and the other is skin tight and silky. Obviously those are for full ballgown vs. a slinky dress. I changed in and out of those a couple times.

And then I actually tried on a dress that actually took my breathe away and made my heart start beating faster. It was so amazing! I had three before that that I really liked, but nothing compared to this dress and how gorgeous it is. I would love to put up a picture, but Justin reads this too šŸ˜‰ He’s not allowed to see for another 291 days, haha.

But honestly. Seeing myself in that dress suddenly made things a lot more real to me. We didn’t buy it yet, my mom talked me into coming back in a couple weeks with some of my bridesmaids to get a couple more opinions and try some more on. But I do think I’m in love šŸ™‚

I do believe I found another budget saver. Growersbox.com offers “wedding-in-a-box”. Basically you order the flowers you want for whatever reason (in my case for bouquets) and they deliver them to you. You basically save all that money by putting the bouquet’s together yourself. I think that would make for a good bridal party thing the night before. I figure we’ll do some sort of sleepover arrangement, I haven’t quite got that par yet. If not everyone then myself and Lori (who is Matron of Honor), after the rehersal dinner or something along those lines. Those are details for much further down the road.

I will be happy when we have the venue reserved and the big stuff taken care of…so then we can have fun planning out all the little things that will make this day wonderful šŸ™‚

