I thought I would take a break from typing away about wedding stuff. You know, I don’t want to bore you to death. So here are some pictures of what has been going on lately, as well as some recent cooking adventures I’ve embarked on.
Here are a bunch of us at Justin’s and my Halloween party 🙂 That naughty nurse there is my future sister-in-law, who insisted on beating on me all night 😉 haha. But seriously, you get some rum in her and she’s abusive! jk, sort of. The hippy is Brittany, another future bride who’s tying the knot in May. She’s one of the people I’m able to obsess with, although we’re constantly battling it out for who gets to talk about who’s wedding now. We like to drive our men crazy….and it doesn’t help that they live right around the corner from each other. 😉 There Brittany and I again, and that devilishly good looking man in the middle there is Justin, of course. It was actually that day that Justin (Justin!) suggested it might be a good idea to move the wedding up…then he proceeded to go immerse himself in Brian’s special “spiced” cider and we weren’t able to talk about it until later the next day…damn him. haha. But all’s good now and I’m happily running around like a chicken with its head cut off making arrangements…while he sits back and watches in amusement. sigh. 🙂 I think I’m being pretty good though, I can avoid talking about weddings if I wa- oh, wait. Maybe I can’t. Ohhhh well. I’m allowed. It’s all around me and starting to creep up rather quickly! Like today for example, I bought the first of the bridesmaid gifts. I’m still on the fence about sharing, as they can read it and I’d like to surprise them…Maybe I will anyway and keep some secrets 😉 haha. I just love all this planning! I should have gone to school for party planning or something…except in this economy it’s probably not the most secure job to have.

Ok, Ok. I’ll stop. On to cooking!

Last night I cooked my ass off. Seriously! I got off work at 4 and was just pulling out the dinner I made at around 6:30 when Justin got home…and then I went back and made some more things to stockpile our fridge/freezer with! I went all out last night for dinner. It’s not often we can sit down to a real home made dinner together anymore, literally. We’re always running around on the weekends so we usually go out for wings or something (which I really don’t mind, haha) and we work opposite shifts at work, so that’s out of the question. So when I get to cooking, I really cook! These are crab meat stuffed mushrooms. I mix butter, onion, a little milk, chopped stems from the mushrooms, Italian seasoning, tomatoes, breadcrumbs, shredded mozzarella cheese, and, of course, crab meat. I mix it all in a saucepan on the stove and spray a baking sheet with pam and then spray the mushrooms with pam. Butter tastes a little better, but I don’t like to add the extra calories. Justin loves mushrooms, and although I didn’t like them much before, I’ve really acquired a taste for them, especially stuffed or fried…I don’t really like them raw, haha. But anywho, this is a great as really easy recipe. You just snap out the stems so it leaves a little hole in the middle. Heat up all the ingredients in a saucepan then scoop a little into each of the mushroom shells. Heat them in the oven on 400 for about 15 minutes until the tops are nice and crispy =) They are delicious and now I’m starving. Damn. The next picture here was my first attempt at stuffed chicken breast, and it was amazing. Not that I’m full of myself or anything 😉 But yeah, first I marinated the chicken in zesty Italian dressing mixed with fire roasted tomato dressing and then I stuffed them with mushrooms, tomatoes, onion, and chicken stuffing. After that I topped the chicken with grated parmesan cheese and Italian seasoning and a tomato to garnish. I should have added a little green in there somewhere for looks, as everything is a reddish color, but it tasted great so whatever. haha. The potatoes are twice baked. I baked the potatoes for about an hour to get them soft enough to scoop out, then I cut each of them in half and scooped out the middle of each to make a shell. I mixed the potato I scooped out with mozzarella, cheddar, and parmesan cheese with bacon. I think Justin decided he’s marrying the right woman when he saw all this on the table when he got home last night 😉 I was very proud! One of the things I’m most proud of, though, is that I can up with it all myself. No recipe! The final thing I made that night after dinner is my broccoli soup. This stuff is amazing. Seriously, I could live off of it if you let me. I got the basic recipe here, but I embellish a lot. Take that recipe and I also double the onion, because I love them, and double the broccoli. I also add ham because Justin would eat only ham for the rest of his life if he could, and I also added tiny chopped mushrooms last night because I had them on hand and red potatoes. The original recipe I made the first time, and it was good, but I wanted something a little more meal-worthy for something real quick. The potatoes really give it the meal quality if that’s what you’re looking for. If you want a soup that’s great as a starter, leave out the potatoes and this is definitely your soup. I really think it’s better than any other broccoli soup I’ve ever had, and it’s very versatile. I can’t say I’m a big fan of Velveeta, but this soup really makes it delicious…and it’s less fat than regular cheese! yay! haha. I made a huge batch of this stuff and froze about half of it. I’ll seriously eat it for dinner every night this week at work. Justin may or may not dip into it, but when I’m not around to tell him what he’s eating that night he has burgers. what a man 😉 That’s all for now, I think I’m going to take a trip down memory lane with you and share Justin and Ariel through the years…aren’t you excited?

