Just another manic Monday.  Ugh.  So freaking busy today.
Anyway, I have another delicious recipe that I promised I would share. This went over well with Justin. Brian, and Brittany. I made this shortly after Justin and I got together and I’m pretty sure this is one of the reason’s he proposed. That and my lasagna, but that’s another story all together.
This recipe is for cashew-encrusted pork, otherwise known as bound-to-get-lucky-and-proposed-to pork. It’s based off of this recipe from Kraftfoods.com, although like most things I cook, I pretty much do whatever the hell I want. First you have your pork tenderloin, although if you are starving to death and want a quick meal I would not suggest tenderloin- it takes nearly two hours to cook, and we have a hardcore hot-as-hell oven. Go with pork chops, they work very well too. If you do go for the tenderloin, stab the little bugger to death and cut it in half, like you see here. Trust me, better to wait two hours than four. the first variation I make from the original recipe from Kraft is that I don’t use pecans, I use cashews. Honestly the first time I made it I just picked up cashews by mistake, but I think it would taste better anyway, we both love cashews, and I’m really not a fan of pecans. Take them or leave them. To crunch them up into itty-bitty pieces I put some in between two pieces of wax paper and use a jar (any glass jar) to beat the crap out of them. This part would probably be best if we had a meat mallet, but that will go on our registry. haha. I also usually use a whole can, or as much of the can as I get after Justin attacks it. next is the ingredients! da da dum. It also leads into the super-messy part. You need: dried tarragon leaves, honey, minced garlic, brown sugar, salt, pepper, and vegetable oil (or any oil, whatever). I also add Italian seasoning, garlic salt, onion powder, and sage. I’m kind of a seasoning freak. Add as much or as little as you like. I really like experimenting with the sweet/salty combo. I also think the honey/tarragon mix is pure genius. Unfortunately I cannot take credit for that, but what can you do. This is usually my favorite part. Although the mixture doesn’t taste very good uncooked it smells amazing. I just use the smell test until I get it right. heh.
After you do get it right, cover the pork pieces in the mixture and rub it in good. Then roll the pork with the mixture on it in the cashew pieces untill you have a nice even coating. Sprinkle the remaining cashews on top. I find that any smallish glass dish works best for this recipe. Add peaches and a couple chopped onions around the pork. I know, it sounds weird, but it is so amazing I can’t even tell you. Cover dish with foil and cook until pork is cooked through. Like I said, the pork can take forever and a day to cook, but it’s so worth it. After your toiling you should end up with something like this. I have to say, it’s not as colorful as I would like it, but maybe I can amend it a little to add some color…red strawberries? and something green…maybe green onions, I’m not sure. This is seriously one of our favorite recipes. I asked Justin the other day what he liked best out of everything I cooked. The first thing he said was the ham I posted about a month ago….but let’s face it, you don’t have to be a culinary genius to cook a ham. Seriously, unless you’re butchering the pig yourself there is absolutely no skill needed to unwrap ham, put in pan, and turn on oven. Not exactly impressive. So then I asked him what his next favorite thing was, and he said the lasagna/this recipe. Sooooo, I guess we have a winner here, because I’ve cooked a lot.
This weekend is the big weekend. Justin’s family (parents, brother, sis-in-law) and my family (parents, brother) are….meeting! haha. We figured it’s probably about time considering we’re all going to be family here in 284 days! EEP! I’m excited/nervous though. I’m sure everything will be fine, but damned if I’m not having a glass (or 5) of wine before the actual event. So Friday We’re hitting up the local (amazing) winery and will probably have a good old time with my parents Friday night. I’m sure I’ll obsess over this some more in the next few days, but it will be great to finally have everyone meet.

