Stole the title from twilight. Sorry, still a little obsessed. I actually wanted to share a tiny bit of what I’ve been working on lately, my book. Or books, I haven’t decided yet if the story I’m going to tell will be long enough to require more than one book. Anyway, here’s the preface in first person point of view of the main character, Charlotte:

Somewhere in the world is someone for everyone. I have to believe that now, although I did not know that could possibly include somewhere in all the ages, or that I had to go actively looking for mine. I was content with where my black and white life was heading, I never thought there was another path for me. All that changed in an Alice in Wonderland moment, and I have a feeling I will not go back to where my path started.

It’s still rough, but I currently have two chapters done along with a lot of pieces I’ll stick in sooner or later. It’s hard to say where exactly it’s going. I’m working diligently on an outline, that’s one of my biggest writing flaws; I don’t plan where the story will go, I just assume I’ll know when I arrive there. It doesn’t always work so well.

I have a very hard time describing the story. Partially because I don’t quite know what elements I want to include or where I want the story to go. I know where I want it to end, but the journey along the way is the problem for me.

I do have very high hopes for 2009. We’re getting married in August, which is still striking me as surreal. I had all my bridesmaids over yesterday for drinks and meeting each other and whatnot. Three of the bridesmaids I have have been my friends since we were all very young. Tara, Bree, and Kendra I met before my age hit double digits, and of course Lori, my matron of honor and soon-to-be sister in law, who really was on my side and rooting for us to get together, and Brittany, my newest friend who has become close to both Justin and myself along with her fiance. Life is good, really.

Another hope I have to to get myself a book contract. I’ve done some widespread research on it, and I think I’m in for an uphill battle. This is seriously my dream though, I would love to just be a full time writer. Maybe one day!

