What a combination!
First the fun stuff. I think is is finally, finally, finally the centerpiece I’m happy with. I wish the pictures actually did them justice. They’re probably about a foot tall or so, a little taller with the beaded stuff coming out. I figure one to a table, and the tables are round. I wish I just really loved them. don’t get me wrong, I really, really, really like them, and Justin likes them. I like that it’s something different, it’s not just your run of the mill flowers, but I’m afraid they’re just a little too different, if that makes any sense. haha. People expect flowers I guess is what I’m thinking, but I’m not really a flower type person. I did want something different, and it’s obviously quite a bit different from what I started with. I really enjoyed putting it together though, and coming up with something that if not completely unique, not something I’ve seen anywhere else in my mass trolling of the internet. I’m really enjoying to continue making them. I’m actually twisting every single on of those bead branches by hand, so my fingers are definitely feeling a little rough, but it’s something to keep me occupied and sane at work, so I really can’t complain. I figured out I have to make about 30 of them a day to make 20 centerpieces to have them ready a month before the wedding. I guess I’m proud of them. I was the guests at the reception to think how different and unique they are, and hopefully not think how strange and weird the bride is 🙂 Not that that would be unwarranted, but hopefully I will be so stunningly beautiful in my pretty white dress that no one will dare call me weird. haha. We shall see!

Here’s a closeup of the beads. There are also little red silk rosebuds in the middle there, although a little hard to see. They’re not the “real” type fake flowers, they’re shiny and have little crystals in the middle, very pretty 🙂 I need to do a real trial run that is permanent. I’m still “mastering” the art of getting all the wire at the bottom to not be massively bulky and ugly. I have the little red stones that help cover that part up, since the clear pearls leave nothing to the imagination (which is pretty!)
I’m really curious to see how they look in the natural lighting when we have them all set up in the barn/hall. It’s going to be late august, so daylight will be until 9 or so and we won’t need artificial lighting until the final hour or two of the reception. Hopefully it all turns out the way I have it in my head (and REALLY REALLY hope it doesn’t rain!!!) That’s one of my biggest fears, raaaain on my wedding day. That’s obviously myself bringing it on because we both wanted it outdoors. Hopefully my worries are unfounded, and they are, according to the farmers almanac. haha.
Here’s the final shot of the centerpiece, the part I’m the most fond of. The clear pearls in there are actually gel-like things that grow from itty-bitty pieces maybe a centimeter in diameter to over an inch in diameter when you soak them in water. Seriously, the way they shine in the light is awesome. I added those red gem rocks at the bottom and suspended them in between the pearls, I really, really like all the reflecting it’s doing. It just looks awesome, and I think well compliment the bridesmaid dresses and any other red accents perfectly.

In a completely non-centerpiece related topic, I found This article while browsing today and am completely smitten by the idea. I really think that I’d like to set something up. I just need to find someone I trust to man the laptop, or hire one of my brother’s friends or something. I think it would be a major hit, and I don’t want to miss out on any of the pictures taken!

