And be a simple kind of man.
Be something you love and understand.
Be a simple kind of man.
Wont you do this for me son,
If you can?
Forget your lust for the rich mans gold
All that you need is in your soul,
And you can do this if you try.
All that I want for you my son,
Is to be satisfied.
Lynyrd Skynyrd, Simple Man

Pretty good advice, isn’t it?
I think we spend a lot of our lives trying to be deep, insightful, poised, sophisticated…things that society has come to respect and admire. I know I do. The truth is, I’m really not any of those things, although I try very hard to radiate it.
Let me tell you a little about my day.
I woke up, got ready for class, drove halfway to class and felt like crap. Decided I didn’t feel good enough to sit through geology and human behavior lectures, so I turned back. When I got home I proceeded to watch Twilight twice, and then The Lizzy McGuire Movie (that’s not the worst part yet) After that was over I spent 15 minutes setting the PVR to record two weeks worth of Hannah Montana, Bridezillas, Rich Bride/Poor Bride, and Platinum Weddings. On top of the American Idol I already have recording.
I guess what I’m getting at is that all of those shows make me feel good. I’ve always been a huge nerd, and at one point in my life I might have been embarrassed to share my PVR collection (On Demand selection is much more mature, I promise!) But I really feel…comfortable with myself. I guess I’ve finally turned into a pretty simple person.

There are three things I want out of life. I want to grow old with Justin and watch our future children grow up healthy and happy, I want a house on a plot of land where I can have a cat, a dog, and a garden, and I want a job I can enjoy going to. I don’t care to have a ton of money, I know it doesn’t buy you peace of mind or security or health. I just want to not be miserable knowing Monday is starting, or have to talk to complete morons every day (seriously, people call in asking how to turn the computer on).

I feel like these months are right before the dawn of a new life, which is kind of true. In the next year I’ll get married, graduate college, hopefully become a homeowner, start my “big girl” job, and who knows what else. It doesn’t sound very simple, but when you break it down it’s just about everything I want out of life.

