Oh, my Monday started off badly!
You know that feeling when you’re lying in bed in between sleep and being awake where you contemplate the absolute necessity of getting out of the big warm bed? Uh huh. I was so close to just putting geology on the back burner and rolling over into sweet, sweet sleep.

But I didn’t. I was a good girl and got out of bed, drove the half an hour to school, and sat down in class ready to take furious notes.

Then class got canceled.

Two years ago I would have been very happy about this, but I had another 3 hours until my next class and my big warm bed was half an hour away and not as warm anymore. That really put me in a mood.

But the day got better. I don’t have to do observation tomorrow, which I was really starting to sweat about because the chores are piling up. I need to do some grocery shopping badly tomorrow because I haven’t mastered shopping bi-weekly, so we usually run out of food at this point. It doesn’t help that Justin thought it would be a great idea to empty our fridge and take all the food I painstakingly planned out for these two weeks up to the camp last weekend. It threw my whole system out of whack! I also need to hit the financial aid office for the first time in my four years of schooling and see how the heck I’m paying for these next couple semesters. I’m so close to the finish line of school I can almost taste it. I need to do some major cleaning and revamping of the kitchen. I’m not a neat person and even I’m starting to twitch, Justin must be dying.
speak of the camp, we did have our first nice-weather trip of the year up this past weekend for Justin’s 26th birthday. Or 24th, it depends who you ask 😉 the weather really did cooperate, and hung at about 50 degrees the whole weekend. For us who have been living under 10 feet of snow these past few months, 50 degrees is practically a heatwave.

Anyway. I take this same picture every. single. time. I go up there. Honestly, I think it’s one of the most breathtaking views anywhere. I’m especially happy with how well my camera caught it, as it is not quite the fancy camera I would like (that one happens to be on our Target wedding registry, hinthint 😉 But yeah, gorgeous view of the Allegheny river about a minute from Justin’s camp. You really can’t beat a view like that. We went tubing down that river about three or four years ago (wow, has it been that long??) and it was a great expierience that I’d really love do do again. I’m not sure why I make it a point to take the same picture every time we’re up there, but it really isn’t. the river and the scene changes dramatically with the seasons, and this one might actually be my favorite, mostly due to the blue and purple color my trusty little camera caught. Love!
My love, and me cheesing biiig time 🙂 We were out by the fire on Saturday night (Justin’s birthday!) Which besides Justin haveing a little close contact with a little bit of pavement, was an awesome day. Slept in, lazed around, and then went out to the best BBQ place in the entire world…or at least western Pennsylvania. Seriously, pulled pork to freaking die for, and I’m not a huge BBQ fan. They also have amazing smoked meats and cheeses, so everyone stocked up for the rest of the weekend. That’s how I like my men, low key and laid back. He can be made happy with a case of Sam Adams and a BBQ birthday lunch. Well, Justin got a shiny new helmet for his shiny new (new last year anyway) dirt bike. But that’s the way we like it, just…simple. We like to throw some curves every once in awhile to keep things interesting (he doesn’t know it yet, but we’re going to go see Rent, methinks) heh. But you get the idea. There’s a lot of give and take and a lot of relaxed moments in our relationship. We are not high maintenance people…unless it comes to cooking for me and cleaning for him. ha.
Last picture I took on the trip, and fittingly I took it as we were descending down the mountain. I don’t know if it’s because we only get to visit maybe once a month once it starts getting nice out, or that we just don’t live there 24/7, but the mountains just look so much more beautiful than anything around here does. I really can’t explain it, but I always think it. There is a lot of country side to the area we live, but absolutely nothing compares. I might be biased. The camp and the mountains is where Justin and I just clicked. It’s where he proposed to me, and although it holds some random bad memories that do not involve one another, there’s a history that just has to be respected, and the future that we’re building now. Not to mention our own children one day building memories. I hope one day they’re able to take pictures like this and be able to float down the Allegheny. I also want to see the day where Justin and I can totally bust them for underage drinking up there, I’m really looking forward to that. I’m a simple girl 🙂

