Well, if you’re not a regular smoker you may have missed it, but today cigarette sales tax rose $1.01 in PA today.

Ouch.

So I’m down to 4 cigarettes I bought yesterday before they jumped to to over 6 dollars, and I’m going to make my first (and hopefully last) real attempt at quitting.

I remember when I started. I was a freshman in college and hated, hated, hated smoking up until I had my first one after a particularly bad week involving work, school, and an asshole I had a crazy-insane crush on at the time (who coincidentally smoked) I have an addictive personality, I was hooked.

That was a little over 4 years ago. Now with this new tax I think it’s just best I give quitting a try. I will not say I’ll never pick up another cigarette as long as I live, no way. I enjoy a cigarette when I’m drinking, so on nights out I think it might even help in the regular quitting process to let ourselves indulge. It’s also going to help that Justin’s on the same page as I am. It’s nice to have the support, and I will support him. Hopefully we will not be so cranky we’ll want to kill each other.

I really am on a health kick. I did the shred again last night and plan on doing it later tonight as well. I like how I feel after (and definitely do not want a cigarette!) Of course, on the flip side of that, I’m trying desperately to shed some weight, and quitting smoking is really not going to help in that aspect.

So I’m down to 4 and I’m armed with Nocorette and the Quitter app on my ipod touch. Whatever I save from not buying cigarettes I’m putting away for 4 things: wedding, honeymoon, house, and a long life with my husband. If I can keep those things in mind I think I can kick it.

