Hello! What a great weekend 🙂 This picture was taken out at Brittany’s parents house in the middle of no where, and well past the point of legal limit. It’s ok, we slept in a tent 😉 Haha.

So yeah, this past Saturday was Brian and Brittany’s bachelor/bachelorette party. Brittany’s parents happen to own a nice amount of land and have more than enough wood to burn. Justin organized all the groomsmen to to pitch for a keg of Yingling and that’s the winning recipe for a great night. We all pitched a tent and spent the night. I know it kind of goes against tradition to have the bride and groom celebrate the final party of freedom together, but they had a joined party because, let’s face it, they both enjoy a good kegger and those are cheaper than strippers.

Another exciting activity of the day was catching my first-ever fish! I had an excellent teacher, and am now a fly fishing master. Errr. Well, I am something, at any rate. haha. It really was a lot of fun though, I never thought I would be real into fishing, but I think Greeny (Professor fish catcher) lured me into loving it by having me fish in a very populated pond. It was like shooting fish in a barrel, only with fishing poles, and the fish lived. haha. I really liked it all though, and even braved holding a blue gill. Obviously I know exactly what I am doing. I wasn’t prepared for the little microscopic teeth in there, even though they don’t hurt. I dropped the poor guy a couple times before I got a good hold of it. All together I caught four fish before I was a bit too drunk to comfortably stand near a body of water and be sure I was not going to randomly fall into it. Or get pushed in. I hope to go on a real fishing expedition later on this summer when things die down a little bit. I just need to get a fishin’ license.

Fish, unfortunately, are not the only inhabitants of the pond. Justin and Greeny discovered a snake near the water that pretty much scared the crap out of me. (Fear of snakes > fear of spiders) but it really didn’t get close enough to pose much of a threat to me. Greeny was more of a threat to him, I think he was trying to behead it with a blunt stick (he claims he was trying to capture it, haha) But it was a heartwarming site, Justin and Greeny trying to vanquish the evil serpent with a smile on their faces 🙂

And, of course, the party wouldn’t be complete without my almost-sister-in-law, who came by with her husband and gave me the final invitation she made for my bridal shower. I swear I almost cried. I probably would have except the booze generally keeps me from crying. It was really beautiful, and it was obvious she put a lot of effort (on my behalf, of all things!) into it. It really just makes me that much more ecstatic that I’m going to get the sister I always wanted and never knew was waiting for me in just a few months. I don’t think I could have hand-picked a better family to marry into.

Seeing the shower invitation really made things even more real. Even through my fuzzy beer brain I was mentally hyperventilating. Not in a bad way. I can’t believe how well everything fell into place.

Marylin Monroe said this famous quote that you see all over the place, but rarely gets credit for it: “I believe that everything happens for a reason. People change so that you can learn to let go, things go wrong so that you appreciate them when their right, you believe lies so you eventually learn to trust no one but yourself, and sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together.”

I think she was a brilliant woman, and agree with that phrase with my whole heart. I wouldn’t appreciate Justin as much if I wasn’t hurt in the past, and the relationships that I dreamed up in my head over past flames was never what was really going on in real life. Some good things really do fall apart, but if you keep your head up and trudge on through all the bullshit you’re going to find something that makes you look back and laugh at yourself for being broken up before. Hindsight is 20/20, but presently my eyes are finally open to the present(s) in front of me.

