Not sure if you noticed or not, but I’m a huge craft junkie. This wedding has given me the opportunity to try different projects that I never would have otherwise been interested in. One of my favorite projects have been adorable little pomanders!

I first came across pomanders while looking at bios on The Knot, and I was interested in finding out what the heck they were and what they were made out of. I found out that the original pomanders where made out of fruit where used to keep people from being too….well, smelly. Haha.

Little flowers! First step! This version of pomanders is obviously not the tissue paper kind. First I found little flowers (these are about an inch wide) at a local craft store. You know the kind that are basically used as “fillers” in an arrangement? They come in bunches with probably about 30-50 little flowers per stem. I got them on sale for 70 cents each. I figured I’d probably need about 30 to make 20 pomander balls. This math is still a work in progress. haha.

As you can see, I basically tore everything apart. I took the little flowers (mine basically had two layers of silk “flower”) and stuck a corsage pin through the center. I used pins with a pearl head, but there’s dozens of colors out there that can be used for matching. This is the tedious part, pulling the flowers apart and sticking the pins through them one at a time. One. At. A. Time. Patience is not one of my virtues, but these are so cute they are worth it.

Half Done Once you get through the tedious process of pulling apart the flowers you get to the fun part of stabbing the Styrofoam ball until it’s covered in cute little flowers. Obviously the colors for my wedding are red and white, but you can find the little flowers in any color imaginable if you have a good craft store nearby.

Unfortunately I don’t have a picture of the finished project. I plan on stringing ribbon through the Styrofoam and hanging the little pomander balls on the back of the wooden chairs for the ceremony in the gazebo. Because everything is all outside, I figured the scenery is really the main decoration, these just add little personalized elements to the ceremony.

We’re officially sitting at 51 days until we tie the knot! Wedding festivities start this month beginning with my Bridal shower on the 18th. I’m so excited! I have an amazing Matron of Honor who has been working her butt off to pull it together, and I’m so grateful for her. August 8th is the bachelorette party, I’m so excited to tear up Pittsburgh with my favorite girls. The tentative plan is to have dinner at The Melting Pot, then we’re going to catch a show at the dueling piano bar in Pittsburgh, Sing Sing. After that everything’s kind of up in the air. We may just bar hop on the south side until it closes down.

So many things to look forward to, can’t wait!!

