The days are flying, and I had my bridal shower this past Saturday!

My Beautiful Bridesmaids!
From left to right: Brittany, Lori, Kendra, me, Tara, Bree.

It’s all becoming very surreal. I had a party to celebrate that I’m going to be a wife! It also really allowed me to kind of reflect on my friends and family.

Brittany I’ve only known a couple years. We became friends when her (now) husband became friends with Justin. We all work together and get to bitch and complain to one another about our wonderful job. Her’s was one of the weddings I was just in recently.

Lori I’ve known a couple years longer than Brittany. In case you’re just tuning in, she’s Justin’s sister-in-law, married to his older brother. Lori and I hit it off right away long before Justin and I got together, and she helped get us together and get him away from someone that didn’t treat him as well as he deserves.  It’s hard to believe it’s been almost 5 years since I’ve met her!

Kendra and I formally met while we were in 5th grade and we were taking out Iowa Basics tests (standardized testing for grade school-ers here in PA) She and I basically put each other through some hardcore high school hell, but we always found each other again. We expierienced a lot of our “firsts” together. First boyfriend, first kiss, first dance, etc. We’ve really gone down the road together. And then I watched her son be born, that was kind of a life changer, seriously.

Tara is my longest running friendship. We met in third grade and found a common ground in Goosebump books. We practically lived at each others houses as kids. We started to grow apart a little in junior high, then came back together when we found common ground again in show choir and high school musicals (you know, before high school musical. Did I really just go there? Anyway…) She’s one of those friends where you don’t talk for months, then pick up a phone or meet for lunch and pick up right where you left off. It’s pretty awesome.

Finally, Bree!. We first met while I was in third grade, but we didn’t really become friends until high school. Like Kendra and Tara we all went to school together, but Bree is a year older than us. We have a funny history together that involves a boy that we love to laugh about now, but obviously back then it was serious business, haha. We basically hit it off during my freshman year when our school put on the production of Grease. Ever since then we have been friends, and both share a love of cooking and being boring old ladies. She has also been my go-to complainee with wedding related stress. Poor her! haha. She just got married a couple months ago too.

So there you have it, my formal introduction to my oldest and closest friends! One of the best parts about this whole wedding expierience is that they all are in one place at one time! All my friends are pretty laid back, so I think they all clicked very well!

Presents! The whole shower was a stunning success. Lori did a great job organizing the whole thing, although everyone kept telling me how nice it was. I didn’t do a thing besides show up! Lori definitely outdid herself. I’m very lucky to have her!
The shower was a lot like those birthday parties you have when you’re younger. You play some games, eat a lot, and then everyone watches you open presents. The one big difference is that I picked all the gifts ahead of time in the form of a registry, haha. I’m not one for surprises.

August 8th is my bachelorette party. I’m pretty excited to go out with all my friends, I just hope it doesn’t get carried away too much. I’m honestly the type of person who would be happy to go out to dinner with everyone and grab some drinks. I’m not much for the club scene or anything real crazy. We are going to a dueling piano bar, which I am seriously excited about. However, if any of my friends think I’m getting up on stage and getting myself humiliated, I guess they don’t know me that well! I’ll be a stick in the mud about some things, but I’m just not the center of attention type. I hope everyone understands that! no penis crowns for me, thanks. haha.

I do have the most awesome friends though, I’m a lucky girl 🙂

My Girls =)

