Man, I really don’t like baking, but I trudge on!

I think I’m coming down with some kind of cold. I was off on Monday, so I spent the entire day dedicated to trying to get ahead of the wedding preparation deadlines that are so quickly approaching I’m going to have a heart attack. I did not really succeed. I did get the final bridesmaid dress from David’s Bridal, so that’s taken care of. I think 3 of 5 of the bridesmaids have their shoes, so I’m not too concerned about that. I went to my parents on Saturday and tried on my dress with the veil and all the accessories and contrary to my nightmares the dress still fits beautifully, so as long as I don’t gain or lose 20 pounds by the day of I should be good.

I also baked about 15 dozen cookies on Monday, which really sucked. I don’t mind baking in general every once in awhile, but to be on a deadline and making a million cookies when I could really just use the relaxation time…blah. Anyway, I made three different kinds, so we’ll start with my favorite!

Oreo Truffles
8 oz. cream cheese
1 pound Oreos
1 pound milk or dark chocolate (I used tollhouse and found that the dark chocolate melted just fine on its own, but the milk chocolate needed some milk added to help get the consistency right)

1. Grind Oreos to find powder in food processor (I was really excited to use my new processor I got for my bridal shower, haha).
2. With a mixer, blend cookie powder and cream cheese until thoroughly mixed, there should be no white traces of cream cheese. (I needed to add a tiny bit more cream cheese just because I couldn’t get it to mix completely. It didn’t hurt anything.)
3. Roll into small or large balls and place on wax-lined cookie sheet. Chill 45 minutes.
Line two cookie sheets with wax paper. In double-boiler, melt milk or dark chocolate. Dip balls and coat thoroughly. With slotted spoon or fork, lift balls out of chocolate and let excess chocolate drip off. Place on wax-paper-lined cookie sheet.
Store in airtight container, in refrigerator.

Oreo Truffles

I think I liked these the best because there was not actual baking involved, haha. But these things are really, really good. I’ll probably make another batch before the wedding, this recipe yielded about 3 dozen because I made the Oreo balls on the small side.

I have to say I’m just about really for everything to be done and over with. I’m getting tired of stressing over every detail and I really just want to go on our honeymoon and relax for a week!

