I’m a Mrs.!

They really are not kidding when they say that the wedding day flies by and you have no idea how it went by so fast.

I spent the night at my parents house the night before the wedding. I spent some time with Justin and some relatives at the bar (ha!) after our rehearsal was over. Justin left to spend the night at our place and I headed home with my parents after getting properly tipsy. I’m almost surprised we stuck to the tradition.

On Friday, our wedding day, we woke up to it pouring. When I say pouring I don’t mean just cats and dogs, freaking bison and antelopes where falling from the sky. I was pretty sure it couldn’t have rained any harder if it wanted to. We had our own monsoon in western PA.

Honestly, the rain wouldn’t have bothered me except for one small detail…our wedding was set to be outdoors.

I went about my day checking the weather on my crackberry like a fiend. I did it while I was getting my hair done, while I was getting my makeup done, while I was driving (I know, shame, shame.) The rain would not let up.

I drove my mom and my great cousin to the venue where our wedding was about to take place in about an hour, there where still bison falling from the sky. I really couldn’t believe all the rotten luck. I had never felt so sick to my stomach in my life. I choked down a turkey sandwich before we left and still felt like I was just going to be sick all over the place.

To be honest, all I wanted all day was just to see Justin. Justin is the person I go to when I need to cry or need comforted. He’s my best friend and always can make me feel better. I very nearly said to hell with tradition…but I knew it would take away from the magic of the moment later. It was hard.

When we arrived at the venue the rain started to calm down. I was shuffled into the dressing room where the rest of my bridesmaids where already gathered doing last minute touch ups and getting dressed. The closer the moment got the more anxious I became. Bree even had some little shots for us, and would you believe I didn’t think I could handle it? That’s right, I turned down hard liquor, I was that bad off.

No one would let me out of the bathroom as Justin was running around outside taking care of last minute details. I had the shakes and felt like I was going to laugh and cry all at the same time. We lined up to go out and I heard the song we picked our for the party processional….God Bless the Broken Road.

It was like everything clicked. The sun had come out while I was hidden in the bathroom and my friends where gathered around smiling. Everyone looked amazing all dressed up. I took my father’s arm and we started to walk down the isle… The water had miraculously already dried on the concrete as we made our way to the gazebo where Justin was waiting.

And it was like God blessed the broken road. Every single heartbreak and trial and (literally) thunderstorm that we went through to get to each other was nothing. It was all worth it and then some when I saw him waiting for me up there. At that point I was beyond laughing and I was beyond tears. To be honest, I barely heard the minister while we were up there looking at each other.

It was like my whole world had been in pieces before this, and in 20 minutes it all fell into place so perfectly that nothing can describe it; you have to live it.

There’s nothing in the wold that compares to finding the place your heart can call home.

