I recently joined the website Goodreads.com. Good Reads is an awesome community of book lovers, and they seem to have every single book ever written there. They also have nifty little lists people can add books to, I.E. best books of all time, worst books of all time, best fantasy, best romance, worst book of 200x, whatever. I have come to the conclusion that you have officially “made it” as a writer if the same amount of people hate your writing as those who love it.

I’ve mentioned before that I could not get enough of the Twilight Saga. I love it. I love it so much that I downloaded all the books onto my itouch so I can read them whenever the hell I feel like it.

I consider myself a well educated person. I’ve always loved to read and write and probably always will. The Twilight books are not intellectual in any way, shape, or form and that’s not the point. I had fun reading the different opinions on the books on good reads but found myself scratching my head at a lot of the criticisms. One person called the writing amateurish. I’m not really sure how I feel about that. When you’re reading a series like this, or a novel, am I the only one who doesn’t pay attention to the writing so much as the actual story being told?

One of the main reasons I love this series is because it is an amazing love story, one of the best I have ever read. Another reason I love it is because it is written the exact way I would write a love story like this. Stop reading now if you’re sensitive to spoilers.

The way Stephanie Meyer writes about how Bella feels when Edward leaves her in New Moon is the exact way I know I would feel if I were left like that. Zombie. Haunted. Screaming in the middle of the night. I had such a love/hate relationship with that part of the book that I probably cried the whole way through. It was perfect.

One of my favorite phrases comes from Twilight, “Yes. you are exactly my brand of heroin.”

Come ON. Who comes up with that? We all can think of our significant others as a sort of drug, especially those times where you can’t get enough of them 😉 But Honestly, I think that really put into words exactly how I feel in my own love life. I can safely say that besides nicotine and booze I’m a drug free kinda girl, and never went near anything like heroin, but to associate someone you love passionately to an addiction like that is truly raw emotion.

That’s just a couple examples about why I love that series. Not to mention the fact that they get to live happily ever after FOREVER. How’s that for a happy ending?

I love the story. Personally I don’t think the series deserves to be on any bad lists, and I really think the people who condemn them without reading all four are ridiculous. Twilight is the love story we all want, and if we have a love story we appreciate it, if we don’t, we want it that much more.

