Buying a house, while exciting, is probably the most irritating experience I have ever had. The worst part about it is that apparently I’m the only one who feels that way.

This house has never been a guarantee. We put an offer on the house 24 hours after it was listed. Seller accepted, we were contingent. Then we started worrying about the roof. Would it pass inspection? Would it need replaced asap? Wait, wait, wait.

We got it inspected. Roof did not pass, but it has at least a year on it. We’re relieved, we don’t have to walk away…yet. Wait, wait, wait.

We battle trying to figure out if we can get the seller to pay for the roof, after all, no one wants to eat the cost of putting a new roof on the house before it is theirs. Seller can’t replace it now, but we can get a credit at closing. My husband is handy, he would be able to replace the roof without an issue. Now we need to get the appraisal, and the house needs to appraise to an amount that the bank will give us the mortgage. Wait, wait, wait.

We got the appraisal, and it was right where it should be. It actually appraised $2,100 more than what we’re buying it for, but now there’s some issue that that extra $2100 might not cover some taxes? I don’t understand it, and I’m really reaching the end of my patience for the whole thing. It seems like it is one jerk around after another and I don’t understand why.

I’m just frustrated. I’m frustrated that I’m frustrated when apparently Justin is being cool as a cucumber about it. I’m frustrated that I’m frustrated with him because I think he should be antsy right along with me. I don’t believe he’s taking this all as well as he says he is, but that could simply be due to the fact that this entire ordeal is driving me up a freaking wall.

We are supposed to close two weeks from today. If something falls through this far into the process then I’m walking away from home ownership for a long time. It’s going to take a lot of relaxing before I’m ready to go through this all over again.

Still looking for a green light here so I can finally start getting excited about the biggest purchase of my life. Wait, wait, wait.

